motogp with the wheelchair

motogp with the wheelchair

ULLA KULJA – THE FAST FINN – MOTORCYCLE RACING WITH THE WHEELCHAIR

Ulla on racemodus

Some weeks ago, I had a nice contact with Ulla from Finland. We both are motorbike – crazy people who live their passion in a wheelchair! But where I am on the road with the 3 wheels of a sidecar, Ulla goes one step further and races with a racing machine that is only a little bit adapted. After two sentences and a lot of laughing, it was clear to me – I must introduce you to the fast Finn and her positive world with an interview!

Please introduce yourself briefly –  being born / raised / working / where do you live / are you married / children?

I’m Ulla Kulju, born 1986 in Kemi, Finland. I’m a mom of two and currently live in Hyvinkää, south of finland with the kids and my husband Antero. I have 2 sisters, I’m the middle one. I work as a senior design engineer in Etteplan oy.

 

How long have you been in a wheelchair (accident / innate)?

I paralysed in a snowboarding accident 26th of march 2002. I was 15yrs old.

 

If accident what injury was it?

Spinal cord injury T11-12

 

What are your hobbies or better passions?

I race with 600cc motorcycles in circuit racing. I compete in the national championships against the ablebodied racers and in the worldchampionships against other disabled racers (International Bridgestone Handy Race). I also like to draw and make tattoos.

 

You Finns have always been motorsport crazy, but how does one come up with the idea of ​​taking part in motorcycle racing as a wheelchair user?

I have always wanted to ride a motorcycle but I always somehow tought it’s not possible because of my injury but then someone pointed out that I work as design engineer and solve technical/mechanical problems all the time at work. That gave me the crazy spark of “how can I do this?” and then it was just simple “oh well, let’s try!”

 

Please describe how it works,  how do you get on the bike, how do you keep up, how does a race run from start to finish?

well I certainly couldn’t do this on my own. I need someone to help me get in to my racing leathers as they are so tight that it’s almost impossible to get inside by yourself. Then I have my coach/mechanic who lifts me on my bike. After that the same guys sends me on my way by holding the bike upright from the back of the bike. During the riding I change gears with an electronic gearshifter that is operated with my left thumb. My feet are held on place by magnets that are inserted inside my specially manufactured foot pegs and countermagnets under my boots. To help me lean inside the corners I have a sliding racing seat that I invented myself. When I need my rear brake I can operate it  with my thumb. When I come back to the paddock my coach/mechanic, Marko, is there waiting and he catches the front of my bike to hold it upright when I stop.

This bracket was developed by Ulla to hold the legs on the foot rests

You run your own racing team, tell us a bit about how to handle this?

Yes, I have my own team, KuljuRacing. At the moment we only have one racer, me, but hopefully in the future we will have more disabled racers in our team. My team consists of me as a racer, Lasse (my best friend) is the team chief, Marko as my coach and mechanic, Antero (my husband) as my mechanic and then I have two guys Pertti and Sami as my launch crew for international races.

I mainly do all the PR, but Lasse is the man who finds funding. Marko does all the bike related stuff with me/Antero/Pertti/Sami depending who get to the garage first. I pay the bills and the guys take care that the fun never ends.

What drives you to always be so active?

I’m like quicksilver.. I hardly stay on one place so I guess it’s just my nature to want to do everything and achieve new things. I have always been active with sports and hobbies.

Battle on the Race

 

Do you have tips for beginners who want to try something like this?

Dare to dream! If you want to do something then do it, no one will come and get you from your bed for anything. Get up and do it. There are no limits. And if you want to ride fast, call me.

 

Please tell a little about other activities

Before my accident I use to race with horses as a jockey, I started when I was 6yrs old. Then I snowboarded and played violin and piano. I have always been very artistic so drawing has been my thing for whole my life. After my accident I skiied with monoski and competed in the paralympic level for 4years. I sailed with multihull boats in the national and worldchampionship level. I built two show cars and got myself the license to fly a paraglider.

What are your contacts to other wheelchair users in Germany / Worldwide

I mainly use facebook to keep contact for my wheelchair friends and acquintances world wide.

What are your plans for the future?

I want to win the worldchampionships again, this time the men’s series. I will study this year and on July 2019 I will graduate as Race Motorbike engineer Master’s degree from Repsol Monlau technical school.

So she can already rejoice

 

We hope that you continue to support Disabled Magazin & YouLife with great pictures, videos and recommendations

Thanks for your support. As I said, Disabled Magazin & www.youlife.rocks is just beginning. We are currently looking for content and interested topics and supporters. Our goal is to build a community of people with disabilities that gives others the courage to take their lives into their own hands and courageously move forward. This should not happen in the anonymity of Facebook, we want to give the group a face by the number of members. You are already much further in Scandinavian countries than we are here in Germany.

In the second step, we want to try to make the knowledge, for which we have worked hard, available to other people with disabilities. I would be happy to win you over.

Ulla on YOUTUBE

Ulla on Facebook

Interview for youlife and DC by Alexander Lang 

142 thoughts on “ULLA KULJA – THE FAST FINN – MOTORCYCLE RACING WITH THE WHEELCHAIR

  1. The other day, while I was at work, my sister stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a 30 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  2. I was recommended this blog by way of my cousin. I’m not positive whether this put up is written by him as nobody else realize such specific approximately my problem. You’re incredible! Thanks!|

  3. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and help others like you aided me.|

  4. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your site. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems? A few of my blog visitors have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any recommendations to help fix this problem?|

  5. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this fantastic blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share this site with my Facebook group. Chat soon!|

  6. Just desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity on your put up is just nice and that i could assume you are a professional on this subject. Fine along with your permission allow me to snatch your RSS feed to keep up to date with drawing close post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please carry on the enjoyable work.|

  7. Thanks , I’ve just been searching for info about this subject for ages and yours is the greatest I have discovered so far. However, what in regards to the bottom line? Are you positive concerning the source?|

  8. Hi I am so happy I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a tremendous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great work.|

  9. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook group. Chat soon!|

  10. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100 positive. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Kudos|

  11. I simply want to tell you that I am all new to blogging and actually enjoyed this website. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your website . You surely have really good articles and reviews. Regards for sharing with us your web-site.

  12. Magnificent goods from you, man. I have take into account your stuff previous to and you are just extremely excellent. I actually like what you’ve received here, really like what you are saying and the way by which you assert it. You are making it enjoyable and you continue to take care of to stay it wise. I can’t wait to learn much more from you. That is actually a tremendous site.|

  13. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too wonderful. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it smart. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a tremendous web site.|

  14. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this website. Studying this information So i am satisfied to express that I’ve an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed. I so much indisputably will make certain to don?t fail to remember this website and provides it a glance on a continuing basis.|

  15. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to revisit yet again since I book marked it. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide others.|

  16. Hello this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!|

  17. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content in your case? I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome site!|

  18. I simply want to tell you that I am beginner to blogging and site-building and actually savored this page. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You definitely have superb well written articles. Thanks a lot for sharing with us your blog site.

  19. Great work! That is the kind of info that should be shared around the web. Shame on the search engines for no longer positioning this post higher! Come on over and discuss with my web site . Thank you =)|

  20. Thanks for any other informative web site. The place else may I get that kind of information written in such an ideal means? I have a mission that I’m just now operating on, and I’ve been on the glance out for such info.|

  21. Pingback: Google
  22. Pingback: Jed Fernandez
  23. Pingback: Google
  24. Pingback: bombar instagram
  25. Pingback: Sonia Randhawa
  26. Pingback: IT jobs
  27. Pingback: Digital
  28. Pingback: Buy fake money
  29. Pingback: Sonia Randhawa
  30. Pingback: Sonia Randhawa
  31. Pingback: kratom near me
  32. Pingback: kratom near me
  33. Pingback: Escorts
  34. Pingback: cbd oil for pain
  35. Pingback: cbd for cats
  36. Pingback: Sonia Randhawa
  37. Pingback: maeng da kratom
  38. Pingback: Sonia Randhawa
  39. Pingback: 5euros
  40. Pingback: Sonia Randhawa
  41. Pingback: Sonia Randhawa
  42. Pingback: Sonia Randhawa
  43. Pingback: Buy spice online
  44. Pingback: SEO Melbourne
  45. Pingback: 5euros
  46. Pingback: consultant seo
  47. Pingback: Courses
  48. Pingback: Health News Review
  49. Pingback: buy CBD
  50. Pingback: Handlateknik
  51. Pingback: عزة
  52. Pingback: كبرياء
  53. Pingback: حلوه خيال
  54. Pingback: حزن و الم
  55. Pingback: Escort amsterdam
  56. Pingback: Kratom near me
  57. Pingback: RoyalCBD.com
  58. Pingback: knowledge
  59. Pingback: RoyalCBD
  60. Pingback: Royal CBD
  61. Pingback: Royal CBD
  62. Pingback: RoyalCBD.com
  63. Pingback: wisconsin
  64. Pingback: cbd washington dc
  65. Pingback: Royal CBD
  66. Pingback: RoyalCBD
  67. Pingback: RoyalCBD.com
  68. Pingback: tennessee cbd
  69. Pingback: RoyalCBD.com
  70. Pingback: cbd rhode island
  71. Pingback: new york
  72. Pingback: Royal CBD
  73. Pingback: Royal CBD
  74. Pingback: nevada
  75. Pingback: mississippi
  76. Pingback: missouri cbd
  77. Pingback: cbd oil minnesota
  78. Pingback: massachusetts cbd
  79. Pingback: RoyalCBD
  80. Pingback: RoyalCBD

Leave a Reply